LBUSD News (03/02/17) Gottlieb Art Show Winners Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

Gottlieb Art Show Winners

More than 200 people attended the Norman Gottlieb Youth Art Show award reception recently at the Alpert Jewish Community Center in Long Beach.

Students winners at the high school level were: first place, Daisy Vazquez of Millikan; second place, Shereen Moustafa of Millikan; and third place, Monineath April Ray of Poly.  Honorable Mention went to Skye Buchanan of Wilson; Emma Hastie of Poly; Enrique Martinez of Poly; Kyle Masukawa of CAMS; Andreana Santos-How of Poly; and Chelsea Talavera of Millikan. Ryan Sanchez of McBride won the JCC "Staff Pick" award.  In the new category of high school digital art, winners were: first place, Elizabeth Sandoval of Poly; second place, Corbin Moore of McBride; and third place, Hoang Nguyen of Cabrillo.

Winners at the middle school level were: first place, Katherine Osborne of Hoover; second place, Jade Vigil of Marshall; and third place, Cherish Washington of Hoover.  Honorable Mention went to Juan Barreras of Marshall; Emma Carlson of Bancroft; Brianna Hardy of Stanford; Sydney Seng of Bancroft; and Khanh Truong of Hoover.  Doris Chang of Rogers won the JCC "Staff Pick" award.

JCC Board of Directors Awards went to Dawn Kaufman of Rogers Middle School and David Martinez of Cabrillo High School.

Teachers Kathy Charvat of Millikan High School and Christine Yu of Hoover Middle School both received the Honigman Award for Inspired Visual Arts Education.