LBUSD News (06/14/17) Council for Exceptional Children Awards Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

Council for Exceptional Children Awards

The Council for Exceptional Children Chapter 108 recently honored several students and employees.  Student of the Year awards went to Annie Belle A. of Kettering, Alizay A. of Barton, Brandon V. of Tincher, Christopher C. of Bancroft, Emmalie E. of Cleveland, Gavin J. of Gant, Jorge Brian H. of Tucker ACT, Kyler G. of Kettering and Nevaeh R. of Bancroft.  The Tom Thebarge Speech and Language Grant went to Hallee F. of Millikan.  Receiving the Peggy Stivers Outstanding Senior Grant was Taryn S. of Millikan.  Students were nominated by their teacher, principal, counselor or other school staff and selected for showing tremendous improvement and enriching the lives of all they meet.

“Hats Off Awards” are presented to people outside the field of Special Education who provide exemplary support to students with special needs.  This year’s recipients are Wendy Atwell, drama teacher at Millikan; Beth Cohen, assistant principal at Lakewood; Catherine Hawkins, math teacher at Lindsey; Susana Juarez-Corrales, third grade teacher at Holmes; Jonathan and Jennifer Lawton, owners of the Grocery Outlet stores; Erica Sands, digital arts teacher at Poly; Amy Schwartz, physical education teacher at Millikan; Leonor “Lily” Tejeda, secretary at Cleveland; and Jennifer Waters, dance teacher at Millikan.