LBUSD News (04/12/18) Board Election Results Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

Board Election Results

Two Long Beach Unified School District Board of Education incumbents will return to their seats after running unopposed, while a third seat appears to be headed for a runoff election.  That third seat represents District 3, where the winner will replace Board Member John McGinnis.  He completes his second four-year term in July, when he plans to retire from the board.

None of the three candidates for District 3 surpassed the 50 percent vote needed to avoid a runoff on June 5, according to this week’s unofficial results.  Candidate Juan M. Benitez received 46.7 percent, while Cesar A. Armendariz received 33.2 percent, and Eduardo Lara received 20 percent.  The top two candidates, Benitez and Armendariz, will vie for the seat.

The school board’s five districts are divided by geographic area.  In District 1, incumbent Board of Education President Megan Kerr retains her seat after running unopposed.  Likewise in District 5, Board of Education Vice President Diana Craighead retains her seat after running unopposed.  Districts 2 and 4 were not up for election during this cycle.