LBUSD News (04/18/03) These Students Did Something Wonderful Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

These Students Did Something Wonderful

Tenacious students' heartwarming, uplifting, beat-the-odds success stories inspired more than 650 guests at the recent Seventh Annual Most Inspiring Student Awards Dinner, sponsored by the Long Beach Education Foundation. The 88 remarkable students from the Long Beach Unified School District were recognized for contributing to their schools, their communities and their futures. Some have made remarkable academic gains and personal improvement. Others have personified excellence for years. "How fortunate we are to have terrific kids like these in our schools who allow us to be part of their hopes and dreams and success," said Superintendent Chris Steinhauser. Steinhauuser presented the Superintendent's Distinguished Community Service Award for 2003 to The Assistance League of Long Beach and its Rick Rackers Auxiliary for Operation School Bell, which has provided thousands of deserving students with school uniforms. Each most inspiring student selected by a school was honored at the awards dinner at the Hilton Hotel: Juan Herrada, Addams; Erica Richardson, Alvarado; Michael McBride, Avalon; Iliana Rodriguez, Bancroft; Victor Gomez, Barton; Tanique Jones, Bethune; Enrique Gutierrez, Birney; Westly Ward, Bixby; Semurana Leifi, Bryant; Tony Khensouvan, Buffum; Mohammed Salih, Burbank; George Alvarez, Burcham; Beatriz Felix, Burnett; Leon Stoneham, Burroughs; Wilmer Chavez, Butler; Mirabet Madrigal, Cabrillo; Andrea Mortley, CAMS; Dienisha and Mienisha Alexander, Carver; Roman and Matthew Reichert, Cleveland; Robin Hollowell, Constellation; Beatriz Cervantes, Cubberley; Nelson Miles, DeMille; Jesus Contreras, Edison; Myrella Summer, Emerson; Paula Gonzalez, Franklin; Brian Bergenholtz, Fremont; Sheldon Simon, Gant; Cordon Jordan, Garfield; Dominic Pope, Gompers; Dennis Mendez, Grant; Jalisa Lowry, Hamilton; Juana Ochoa, Harte; Sophantreia Ly, Henry; Diana Martinez, Hill; Charles Young, Holmes; John Taylor, Hoover; Morgan Hale and Shirfaye Morgan, Hudson; Monet Lake, Hughes; Tuan Anh Van, International; Ignacio Arguello, Jefferson; Steven Paul Kromminga, Jordan; Marco Ramirez, Keller; Jin Woo Park, Kettering; Karina Fing, King; Nancy Palacios, Lafayette; Benjamin C. Decuir, Lakewood; Brandon Mata, Lee; Yaraset Plascencia, Lincoln; Yaritza Garcia, Lindbergh; Joseph Willingham, Longfellow; Carolyn Ngo, Los Cerritos; Morgan Laffiche, Lowell; Gerale Russell, MacArthur; Joseph Flores, Madison; Ryan Resendez, Mann; Kechell Jackson, Marshall; Kenneth Howard, McKinley; Yer Vang, Middle College; Diana Michel, Millikan; Merritt Wilson, Monroe; Lucky Narciso, Muir; Ngoc Nguyen, Naples; Joseph Smith, Newcomb; Triana Prince, PAAL; Amanda Ramsdale, Poly; Jeanette Rodriguez, Powell; Sendy Sum, Prisk; Crystal Barrett, Reid; DeZhan Pitts, Renaissance; Monica Palmer, Riley; Leidy Palomec, Robinson; Tabith Ramirez, Rogers; Maria Alvarez, Roosevelt; Shamia Salih, School for Adults; Robert Lewis, Jr., Signal Hill; Eli Ala, Stanford; Roxanne Bantay, Stephens; Daniel Lopez, Stevenson; Savanah Weinlood, Sutter; Arjun Indrodia, Tincher; Edgar Ochoa, Tucker; Gray Ogden, Twain; Gina Seda, Washington; Amy Chincoya, Webster; Cue (Susan) Nguyen, Whittier; Chan (Linda) Khem, Willard; Jennifer Gutierrez, Wilson.