LBUSD News (05/30/03) Class of 2003 May Be One of the Best Ever Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

Class of 2003 May Be One of the Best Ever

The Class of 2003 at Wilson Classical High School is considered by many to be one of the top graduating classes ever to attend Wilson. The distinguished scholars so far have amassed nearly $3 million in academic scholarships. Twelve Wilson valedictorians each have unweighted "perfect" grade point averages of 4.0. Two students are National Merit Finalists. Three students are receiving appointments to U.S. military academies. Wilson seniors have won acceptances to Harvard, Stanford, Cornell, Dartmouth, Northwestern and Yale, all eight UC campuses and 16 of the 23 CSU campuses. Other top universities will welcome Wilson grads this fall: Boston University, Bucknell, Fordham, Gonzaga, Indiana, New York, Northeastern, Occidental, Pepperdine, Pitzer, Pomona, Reed, Renssalaer, Scripps, Smith, SMU, Tulane, U.S. Air Force Academy, West Point, U.S. Naval Academy, San Francisco, Washington, USC, Villanova and Whittier. Each of Wilson’s 12 valedictorians has shown remarkable achievement: • Brett Agatep will attend the United States Air Force Academy. He is an AP Scholar with Distinction. • Allison Dillon, a Presidential Scholar, will attend San Jose State University. She is a First Team All-CIF volleyball player and was involved in Advanced Dance throughout high school. • Kourash Esmaili participated in the Long Beach City College Honors Program while at Wilson. • Thon Ly has taken seven additional math classes at LBCC and CSULB during the past three years, earning all A’s. An AP Scholar With Honors, Thon will attend UCLA. • Jane Ma was accepted at Yale University, but will attend UCLA. • Tessa Petrich, with a perfect 800 score on the SAT2 Writing test, will attend Harvard University. She was a Bank of America award winner, CSULB Presidential Scholar and AP Scholar With Distinction. • Matthew Royal, a National Merit Finalist, will attend UC Berkeley with a Chancellor’s Scholarship. He is a CSULB Presidential Scholar and an AP Scholar. • Nicole Skovgard, an AP Scholar and section editor of the school yearbook, will attend Indiana University. • Ouddam Serei, the second member of his family to graduate from Wilson with a perfect 4.0 average, will attend CSULB. • Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana placed second in the U.S. National Junior Golf Championships. The Long Beach Athlete of the Year will attend Stanford University. • Mirla Urzua, a National Hispanic Scholar, was elected ASB president and will attend Harvard. • Casey Weaver, a CSULB Presidential Scholar and AP Scholar, will attend UCLA.