LBUSD News (01/27/06) 17 Schools Qualify For Title I Awards Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

17 Schools Qualify For Title I Awards

Seventeen Long Beach Unified School District schools have qualified for the California Title I Achieving School award. Those schools eligible are Alvarado, Carver, Edison, Emerson, Gompers, Harte, Hill, Hoover, Hudson, Hughes, Kettering, Mann, Robinson, Roosevelt, Signal Hill, Stanford and Tucker schools. Winning schools will be honored at the 2006 State Title I Conference in May. The awards honor California’s highest achieving Title I schools. To qualify and be selected for the award, a school must exceed Adequate Yearly Progress for two or more consecutive years or significantly close the achievement gap among numerically significant subgroups, double the Academic Performance Index growth target for two consecutive years and meet a designated median API score in both English-language arts and mathematics. At least 40 percent of the students in these schools are from low-income families.